My Brain Tumour Journey

*I have an unwanted guest residing in my brain.

‘Shapeshifter’, is what I call the tumour, which is a Vestibular Schwannoma. It steals my senses

--

A image of chaos, mathematical symbols swirlling in a brain
Created by Author in Leonardo

It's been a tough start to the year with ongoing brain tumour issues.

I believe that having Covid twice now has been the root of the increased symptoms that were wrecking my vitality and energy levels.
Its an odd mix-up, brain tumour /Covid / perimenopause, where one starts and the other ends.

It's like three separate rivers converging, becoming indistinguishable from the others, and forming a torrent. Some days, I could barely rise and collapse onto the couch for much of the day, forcing myself to try and get the motivation and energy to even go outside. I would stumble and reel, clumsy and discombobulated—such a horrible feeling.

Losing one's senses really makes you appreciate them, and imagining what life would be like without taste, smell, and unilateral hearing is enough to grasp onto them tightly and attempt…

--

--

Rachael Cousins writes as Botanical Biohacker
ILLUMINATION

My journey of restoration and resilience as I try and outsmart a hungry brain tumour and reclaim my senses, being stolen by The Silent Thief