5 Soft Skills That EVERY Freelancer Needs

Drew Mailen
4 min readAug 2, 2019
Photo by Unsplash on Unsplash

Being able to write blog posts from your phone or create killer graphics is one thing, however, those are just the hard skills. They will not retain your clients. That’s what soft skills are for; the extra extensions of your personality that will make clients like you. At the end of the day, clients want to retain relationships with people they enjoy working with and go the extra mile.

Here are the 5 soft skills that EVERY freelancer needs:

(1) Responsiveness

Photo by Hassan OUAJBIR on Unsplash

“Client X just sent us an email,” he said. “Wait, I just saw your response. Thanks dude, you’re on it!” I receive texts like this fairly often because I am on my game. My family hates me for it, I’ll be honest. But in the second year of business and clients all over the world, I need to be here.

In the gig economy, you need to be responsive. If you go 2–3 days without answering a phone call or email, especially if your relationship is still maturing, you will lose the client. Don’t get me wrong, you need to put your devices down routinely and unwind. However, you should be there for them as often as you can without it risking your health.

--

--