Color & Meaning

Briana Harris
3 min readOct 5, 2021

--

Color. It’s surrounded all around us, on every inch of earth’s surface. People gifted with the ability to see the different hues and tones of colors, experience a visual color wheel that changes at sight. If I was to describe the meaning of color it be the creation of a visual spectrum that reflects intention or an incidental occurrence upon our eyes.

I’ve taken the opportunity to truly admired the different variations of represented colors, and I’ll reflect my observations.

Firstly, I start off by explaining the purpose of a color walk. A color walk is a self journey, that serves to observe color and its effect on individuals. Color can produce an emotional response generating a future connection associated to it. The walk consisted of a variety of cool tones painted buildings and apartments, I would suppose to represent a sense of tranquility. People past by locations all the time, but rarely do we notice the colors instead of the environment.

The mixture of greenery and the monochromatic blues, had more of an impact on me than I’ll say the warm tones, which can come off too strong in certain areas. I’ve captured beautiful photos that visually described my opinion of the usage of warm versus cool tones in an outdoor setting. Purpose versus allure.

Example of warm tones
Example of Warm Tones
Example of Cool Tones

Having the opportunity to explore color manipulation, I was able to capture locations placing assorted photographic gels in front of the camera lens to create a visibly evident allure surrounding my photographs.

The manipulation of images can create a wide range aesthetic that sort of fits the narrative of a enhanced moment captured. The added filters took ordinary photographs and transformed its appeal and beauty. There should be a pull that make’s an individual take a moment to truly realize to effect color plays on everything. Color naturally attracts to those who admire it or finds a way to create allure to individual aspects.

--

--