My Plan to Get Shit Together

How I’m Going to Get Better

BugsNBears
4 min readJun 25, 2022
Photo by Bich Tran: https://www.pexels.com/photo/white-paper-with-note-669986/

Hello, again my lovelies! Today is day six of writing every day for two weeks and so far I'm feeling pretty proud of myself. Getting some content posted every day while life is happing around me has been a bit difficult, but here we are. I’ve been thinking a lot about my plans and how I want to achieve my goals. Hell, I’ve been trying to determine what my goals are. I’m trying to break things down into the simplest forms to make things easier on myself.

I should start off by filling you in on what exactly is going on in my life. Well, I’m 18 years old, I have chronic pain and chronic mental health disorders, I spend about 6 hours either driving to or attending therapy a week, and I have yet to finish high school. My class graduated two days ago and I’m yet to be done halfway through my courses, this is because I spent four months in a day treatment program that made completing my schoolwork very difficult. So difficult that when I went back to school I didn't feel prepared for the second semester, so, I opted to do online school. It took some funding, as well as a long process to get these online resources so I didn't get to start my second-semester school work until March. I’m hoping to graduate by the end of July but appointments and life just keep seeming to get in the way. Aside, from high school, I'm trying to decide if I should attend post-secondary in the fall or not. And, I'm trying to get my driver's license. Feels like there's a lot going on.

So how exactly am I going to hang on to this rollercoaster of responsibilities? I’m not 100% sure but I love a good plan so let's see if I can work something out.

I think the first step is to list out my priorities from most important to least important.

  1. Therapy/Health ~ This needs to be at the top of my list because when my health is on the line nothing else gets done. My health is screwed up in a lot of ways. I'm often physically ill, in pain, unable to get out of bed or my mental health is a dumpster fire. So… sometimes I’m not going to get anything done. The other aspect of this is that therapy is exhausting and sometimes I won't have the energy to do more than work on myself and that's okay.
  2. Graduating High School ~ Graduation is a goal of mine and it’s certainly something I need to work on even when I really don't want to. I know that the accomplishment I will feel once I've finished everything will be so rewarding. Not to mention, I’ve already got so much done! I just need to keep it up.
  3. Drivers License ~ Where I live in order to get your license you must first have a learner's permit for one year then you can take a test to get your graduate license. I’ve had my learner’s permit for almost a year so that test can happen soon if I choose. I’m still anxious driving in town but everywhere else is fine so this is another goal I'm already working toward completing.
  4. Job? ~ Once I have my license and I've graduated high school, managing a job should be easier. Hopefully, I can find something where I can work at a desk and do some filing. I’d really like to make some money especially if I want to pursue my next goal.
  5. University? ~ This is a BIG question. Should I go in the fall or should I wait another year and work on my health? I've got other things on my plate right now and I'm not sure if I’m ready to take on something as big as university. I’ve been accepted into a program but it doesn't feel like the right time. I think I’ll wait. University will still be there for me when I’m ready.

There we go, some priorities and a plan. I’ll focus on my health and graduating high school, at my own pace. Then I’ll work on getting my graduate license and finding a job if I’m able. I find when I’m feeling overwhelmed getting something written down and a plan made really helps. I need steps to follow so that I can see what I need to do.

Thank you so much for reading this!! I see every clap and every view and it means so much to me! If you like more of my content or want to follow me along my journey you can follow me.

--

--

BugsNBears

Amateur writer, artist, and tea and plant enthusiast.