Daily UX Writing Challenge, day 13: Truck delivery notification

Kevin Bui
2 min readNov 16, 2021

--

Hi, I’m Kevin! I’m a Content designer, currently on parental leave after my partner gave birth to our first child 👶.

Having spent the last several months wiping poop and not sleeping, I’m worried I may have forgotten how to write good. So join me over the next 2 weeks as I go through the Daily UX writing challenge to mentally shake off the cobwebs before I head back to work.

Photo by Zetong Li on Unsplash

Scenario: A short-haul truck driver has a phone app that monitors his route, schedule, fuel & deliveries. He has 6 more deliveries before stopping for fuel and lunch. Due to unexpected traffic, he’s behind schedule. He can choose to stay on his planned route for a few more stops, but risk running low on fuel and missing lunch, or he can get fuel and lunch now and finish the deliveries later.

Challenge: Write a push notification alerting him of this dilemma and options.

Headline: 30 characters max

Body: 45 characters max

Button(s): 25 characters max

Breaking down the challenge

This is an interesting one; I don’t see problems like this very often in my day-to-day job as a content designer.

The challenge stipulates that it has to be a push notification, which is good because it saves us from having to think about the interaction. A push notification makes sense too, because in this scenario the truck driver would be on the road, and not looking at the app itself.

There’s also a lot we have to tell the user:

  • There’s heavy traffic on their route
  • They have 6 deliveries before lunch
  • They’re behind schedule
  • They’re low on fuel
  • Their options (stay on the route, or stop for fuel & lunch)

We aren’t going to be able to convey all of this in 45 characters, so we’ll have to pick and choose what we communicate. I’ve bolded the information I think is most important for our push notification.

I’ve chosen to leave out that they’re low on fuel, because they’ll see that on the dashboard of their vehicle. I’ve also chosen to leave out that they’re behind on schedule, since they’ll presumably deduce that when we tell them they have 6 deliveries remaining.

Final copy

Push notifications UI kit by Lee Munroe at Figma Community

Have any thoughts on the final outcome? What would you have done differently? Feel free to leave a comment or reach out on LinkedIn if you have any feedback for me 😃.

--

--

Kevin Bui

Sr. Content Designer @ Atlassian. I write about content & UX. Opinions expressed are mine, and not the views of my employer. linktr.ee/buiwonder