I Manifested A Career Change (But It’s Not What You Think)

Sonya Matejko
6 min readNov 5, 2019
Photo by Nicole Honeywill / Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Sometimes manifesting doesn’t happen the way you expect it to.

For the last year, I’ve been going through a transformation. During the day, I’d still be at my corporate job. From 9:30am to 6pm, I’d sit behind a desk, do my job (and do it well).

Somehow I made transformation happen before 9am, in the hours before midnight, and on the weekends where I found myself skipping out on drinks and parties more and more.

In the hours that I’d scramble together, I was becoming someone as much as I was unraveling who I used to be.

I was training to become a yoga teacher. I was elevating my freelance writing. I was learning how to meditate and going to sound baths. I was attending 3–4 events or workshops a week to learn more about spirituality. I was meeting more like-minded people who didn’t sit behind a desk all day or who (like me) were wishing they didn’t.

Months went by, and I began to gain confidence in the new person I was starting to show up as. I finished my yoga training. I hosted workshops of my own. I interviewed people like Jewel and Millana Snow for articles. In all that time, I was also constantly rewriting my professional bio.

--

--