Community Manager Spotlight — Marie Owens

CANOPY
2 min readJul 6, 2020

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself.

A: I’m one of the Community Managers at CANOPY’s Jackson Square location! I’ve been with CANOPY for the past year and a half, and I actually started out managing the space’s cafe! I’ve been in San Francisco for almost a decade now, and am super passionate about coffee, design, and rock climbing.

Q: What are some of the more enjoyable aspects of being a Community Manager?

A: Definitely the people. CANOPY’s members come from a wide variety of interesting backgrounds, and they’re some of the kindest, most fun, most fascinating people I’ve met. My colleagues as well, have been a joy to work with, and have become some of my closest friends. They both make the day fly by!

Q: What is something interesting that members don’t know about you?

A: My background and schooling are actually in the arts. In my free time, I love to paint and design, both with traditional and digital mediums. I utilize those skills even in my job at CANOPY, occasionally helping design flyers and graphics for our CANOPY newsletter!

Q: What are your outdoor dining favorites in the CANOPY Jackson Square neighborhood?

A: There’s this little place a few blocks north of Jackson Square on Columbus Ave called Family Cafe. They have delicious Japanese lunch items, like chicken katsu sandwiches, and udon, and beverages like matcha lattes and rose lemonade. The folks behind the counter are also very sweet. I go there so often they know me by name!

--

--

CANOPY

“A beautiful place to work in your neighborhood” located on Fillmore St in San Francisco’s Pacific Heights Neighborhood. Learn more at www.canopy.space