What is Personalized and Personal sales email writing?

Amol Bhalerao
Small Business Forum
2 min readSep 8, 2016

Got confused with the title? Don’t be.

Both Personalized and Personal sounds similar right?

Yes, they are similar but there is very fine line between these two things that makes a huge impact when it comes to sales business.

I am going to make this line a bit broader to make it visible, so you will be able to differentiate clearly.

Do you remember the time when you were first asked to send an email to 50 different persons? What did you do?

I remember when it happened to me, I collected email addresses of 50 persons in an excel sheet and while sending the mail I just edited their Name, Company name and Email address.

What I got in response? A big zero.

I am pretty sure that this might happened with many of you.

So was I wrong? Did I miss anything?

Yes I did. I loosed my 50 potential leads.

After repeating the same mistake for few more times, I realized that I am going somewhere in dark and may lose a returning path. So it’s better to stop for a while and light up my way. Here is what I learned and you should; if you are still repeating the same mistake.

The very basic thing that needs to modify is writing your first email. As I mentioned earlier, the bulk email systems made SDR’s a bit lazy, so they just spend time on collecting the contact information of particular industry or particular post of the person and blast the email bomb on everyone in hope to get their attention, but which rarely happen. People normally don’t get attracted towards bomb, they simply run away.

The name and company of customer appearing in an email, make it look personalized but you never realize that you completely missed a personal touch in email. You know the prospect, you are talking to, have a problem that your product or company solves. But do they really know that they have a problem?

Finding a person, analyzing their needs, understanding their priorities and then writing an email are the key steps to win your customer. (In traditional sales, it is known as Account based selling.)

Here is an article that explains How to Write Personal Sales Email - With 15+ Examples

Apply these techniques and enjoy overwhelming email outreach results in sales.

--

--