How to End a Story: 10 Examples of Flash Fiction Endings

CK Green
4 min readSep 5, 2022

A great ending can stay with a reader long after they’ve read the last line.

Image created by author.

Flash fiction is a type of fiction where stories are told in a small word count, often under 1000 words. These works are intended to be read quickly and so endings can make or break a readers experience.

I’ve been doing Zane Dickens100 story challenge⭐ to write 100 flash fiction stories. After a great first week life intervened and I’m now a few days behind and I’m trying not to beat myself up about it. But that’s a different story.

Back to the point, several comments on my flash fiction have been about the endings and it got me thinking about different ways to end a flash fiction tale.

These examples are from flash fiction written on medium but the ending types can be applied to other works. Links marked with a ⭐ are member-only content.

Unresolved

Unresolved endings leave the character with their goal unfinished, or waiting for something to happen.

I like to imagine a happy ending for the kitten waiting in Lost in the Rain ⭐ by Jonathon Sawyer

He just had to be patient…

Open

--

--

CK Green

Reader (slowly) learning to write fiction, one story at a time.