Coco Huang
7 min readMar 28, 2017

[英打]不藏私分享,精品業面試題庫!

上一篇寫出來沒想到反應比我想的熱烈,初次嘗到走紅(?)的感覺,那就把我之前的筆記分享給大家吧!

Keep calm and wait for interview.

每一個答案都是我自己寫的,然後找了英文好的朋友幫我調整文法和更口語的說法,我是一個土生土長沒吃過洋墨水的台灣人,所以英文真的不是問題,你做了多少準備才重要。如果裡面文法或什麼有錯就Pass吧 XD

在這邊分享給大家,但記得要轉換成你自己的答案,才能讓面試官瞭解真正的你,也才能不會像死背一樣喔!

[Know more Harroads]

The Harrods motto is 「all things for all people, everywhere」. Several of its departments, including the seasonal Christmas department and the food halls, are well known.

Harrods is. With over 330 departments selling just about anything you can imagine, it’s a great place to work.

Up to 300,000 customers visit the shop on peak days, comprising the highest proportion of customers from non-English speaking countries of any department store in London. More than five thousand staff from over fifty different countries work at Harrods.

4 parts starting from introducing yourself, group presentation, role play and sell a product in 30 seconds.

  • Self introduction – you need to present yourself and then do a small presentation as to why you want to work for Harrods and what their values are

Good morning,everyone. I am Yuan Yu Huang. You can call me coco, it’s easy to remember :)

I am a passionate person, solution focus and an excellent team player. I have 2 years working experience in different industry as a Sales.

I am good at interacting with customer as a friend and find products for what they want.

I think the most important thing being a Sales is empathy that you treat them like what you treat your family and even over their expect.

I want to work in Harrods because. It provides the wonderful costumer service. Therefore, harrods will be my best company to. contribute my my profession and passion service skills. And I know there are five thousand. staff from over fifty different countries work in Harrods and this working environment is what I really want to work with.

  • Group presentation. (group task – you need to really get involved here and encourage others to also get involved. The assessors at this stage are looking for “team work”)

Your ability to interact with the other candidates is being assessed here, not the result.

The assessors are interested in not only your ability to work in a team framework but they are also evaluating your social skills and confidence in a group setting.

Moreover, your ability to take the initiative where you see fit will come into play here.

What you are aiming for is to be able to make your opinion heard as well as being able to carry through your decisions.

Instinctively socially aware, reads situations and responds appropriately, being able to get on the same wavelength as the customer.

  • Role play. (The assessors are looking at your confidence and customer service skills.)

pertinent questions to get to know the customer as well as choosing the right things to buy for the party.

You have to display your verbal communication and planning skills to get through this test.

  • Individual interview. (one to one interview section you will also have to stand up in front of the other applicants to present yourself. This is often a 5 minute speech about you and why you want to work for Harrods

Q:Does the customer pay different deserve the same service ?

A:Yes, I truly think it deserve. I remember one time I went shopping with my family in department store during Chinese new year, we feel uncomfortable because some sales think we can’t afford then ignore me. It’s really feel not good. So I want every customers I service can have a good experience at the moment I service them.

Q:What’s your personal service?

A:Sweet smile with humor. Once I met two young customer ask me about if a jacket still have size in M. And I checked for them but it run out. And they dace and said : oh~ no ~ then I reply a dance and said no worry. Then I help them to search in other branch and they are very happy at the moment.

Q:Why do you want to work for Harrods?:

A:I used to work in technology industry. In technology industry everyone wants to work in Google. Now I’m in retail industry. Harrod is a worldwide famous department and everyone come to London will must visit here. I think Harrods is just like the realty world google. You can find anything here with high quality and speedy service. I want to join here to contribute my passion here.

Q:What is Moncler?

A:We are based in Mens and ladies in the designer collections room. We have 16 staff members and offer a full lifestyle range of products. We have prices from £90 through to £6000. Our best known product is the Moncler down jacket with an average price point of £800.

Q:How do you deal with a difficult customer?

A:Empathy is the best solution to deal with this. The first steps I will said I truly know your problem and let them complain first when they finished I will find out different solution to help them solve this question.

Q:What does excellent customer service mean to you?Give me an example of when you have used your customer service skills? Tell me about a time where you went above and beyond what was expected?

A:I think it’s alway keep an eye on details. For example, when there’s heavy raining outside, customers come into the shop with wet umbrella and many belongings, I always offer to keep their belongs in the reception desk, make sure customers can enjoy their time in Harrods.

Q:What is luxury customer service

A:Personalize service. You will know their preference and habit. And try to provide them by their personal service. So keep digging customer’s preference and remember it to provide the special luxury customer service.

Q:用一个词形容Harrods

A:Pioneer. I think Harrods is the pioneer of retail industry. I used to work in IT industry and people work in IT believe that Apple is the pioneer of IT, and I think wherever I work, I tend to work for pioneer.

Q:What motivates you? What drives you?

A:I keep workout 2 times a week. I think exercise is the best motivation, not only keep my spirit high but helps me to release my stress.

Q:What drives you to excel in work?

A:I want to maximize my productivity, I want to use my time to do something really meaningful, to build a great relationship with customers, not just a one time service. By doing so, I can make myself become an excellent sales.

Q:What’s your favorite department at Harrods

A:Food&Wine department. Especially chocolate and dessert. I’m a sweet tooth when I came to Harrod fist time, I attract by it’s pretty and gorgeous Decoration.

Q:My interest in the job

A:This is my first time come to London also my first time work in other country. It’s really my pleasure and honor to work in the best retail department store. I’m highly interesting in this job and also want to develop my retail sales career here.

Q:Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

A:I will work in London for the following two years. I want to enhance my service skills and know more about the customer buying behavior. When I go back to my country, I will join the online retail shopping company and share what I’ve learned here. Because many online retail staff does’t have much comprehensive sale experience so they do not really know what customer need. And I want to use this strength to make it great.

Q:What skills and qualities can you bring to Harrods?

A:I am a outgoing person and good listener so I am good at letting customer feel they are my friend, then listen to them and understand what they want then introduce the most suitable product to them, this is my fist skills. The second one is I have two years retail sals experience, by this experience I can help our store reach our target.

Q:How do you measure success?

A:At the moment, I think if I get this job in Horrod, it will be a success for me now. Before I come to the U.K, I heard many friend said if I can work in Harrods then I should be really proud of myslef.

Different time will have different goal to reach success, and now my success is showing the best of me in this interview.

Q:How well do you interact in a group setting?

A:I will follow my supervisor assignment first and if there is anything could be discuss, I will respecfully try to let my supervisor know if there is any chance to achieve better result.

Q:What is your retail experience?

A:I have working in ASUS to sell the desktop for 1 year. At beginning, I don’t know the hardware device and I read and learn much profession information to explain to customer, In order to let them buy our product. I think being a good retail sales need to be professional and with good manner to let customer relay on your insight.

Q:How do you priorities your time ?How do you priorities tasks to be done?

A: Classify all of the things and order by the urgency, like almost expired bills. First, I will finish some small but annoying things and do it quickly then take care of the big things which will take so much time and effort from me.

Q:What are the 3 expectations of Harrods customer?

A:Profession,Comfortable,Luxury

Q:How do you imagine your working day would be?

A:A very busy day but with lovely team and make new friend with global customers.

Q:Give me an example of being part of a team, what was the end result?

A:In a team, I will observe first and see everyone’s personality. If there is a guy want to be a leader then I will let them do and share my opinion, If there is no one want to be a leader, then I can be a leader and try to ask our team member for different thinking.

This is my team ❤️

Coco Huang

2016–2018 英國打工度假。2019–2021 新加坡 Tech StartUp Life. #womenintech #willpower