INTERVIEW: Brendan Hines is a busy guy — balancing both acting and music | CROOKES MAGAZINE

Adam Crookes
4 min readNov 9, 2017

--

Photo by Valentina Socci

A MAN OF MANY TALENTS. Right now, not only is BRENDAN HINES on-set filming the remaining episodes of ‘The Tick’, but he also released his third solo album a few days ago.

Interview with Adam Crookes

Photo by Valentina Socci

After being in the main cast of FOX’s ‘Lie To Me’ for three years, Brendan Hines learnt many of the technical aspects of acting and filmmaking during this time. In my interview with him he recalls the sense of gratitude he gained for the opportunities he now gets after having years and years of no work. Now starring in a remake of a comic book hero series that Brendan watched as a young teenager, he credits the original series for shaping his sense of humor.

Were you a fan of the original ‘The Tick’ series? Did you watch it as preparation for the role?

I didn’t watch it to prepare for the role because it was already, in a sense, in my bones. I watched it when I was a young teen, and I think it helped me unconsciously shape a more adult sense of humor. “The Tick” cartoon, Red Dwarf, MST3K, old George Carlin records; they all led me towards a more irreverent perspective on what was funny and that may or may not have eventually helped me get this role. So, yes, maybe I watched it then for really long-term preparation for the role.

Who did you particularly enjoy working with on the cast of ‘The Tick’?’

Everyone on this show is delightful to work with. That’s something that I get sick of saying, but I’ve been lucky because in most cases it’s just true. I was already a big fan of Peter’s work, particularly ‘Look Around You’ and I’ve watched his insanely accurate impressions of Kevin Spacey and Michael Caine more times than I can remember. Jackie is basically the opposite of the dark, villainous characters he plays so well; he’s supportive and sweet and jovial. And getting to know Griffin, Yara, Val, Devin, Scott, and John Pirkis not just as hilarious, talents but charming and kind people to spend time offset with, that’s always my favorite part of any job: walking away with friendships.

“Years and years of no work also helped in the gratitude department”

What did your main role in ‘Lie To Me’ teach you about acting?

It taught me to be grateful for steady work. Well, I guess years and years of no work also helped in the gratitude department. But you approach steady work differently as an actor. You may have less time to memorize your lines but at the same time, if you’re lucky, the writers will eventually write to your voice and that makes it easier to commit them to memory. A couple of years as a regular on a show like that also taught me so much about the technical aspects of acting and filmmaking which, if you’re not working steadily, can take twice as long to figure out.

You can catch Brendan in ‘The Tick’, airing exclusively on Amazon Prime now.

Photo by Valentina Socci

Which came first for you, music or acting?

They were almost concurrent. I was playing trombone in the Jazz Ensemble for years before I ever did any acting in public. But at home and with friends I was constantly memorizing monologues and scenes from movies and doing impressions for anyone who’d listen. For years and years I didn’t distinguish between them at all because they’re both just outlets for creative expression, which is something that it seems I require in my life. First, as a shy, tiny dork who could find confidence in both outlets and later as a shy, taller dork whose confidence and insecurities were constantly being tested. As far as success goes, though, it was acting which came first. I never really thought I could make a living as an actor or a musician so every time I get an acting job it still feels like a happy shock, every time someone comes to a live show of mine or buys one of my albums it still soothes some adolescent pang of acceptance.

Do your acting experiences ever play a role in your music?

Yeah, any experience can potentially play a role in my songs, almost to a fault. But mostly I find things that happen in reality to be far more interesting, depending on what perspective you take. Sometimes I camouflage the story or switch up the pronouns to protect the not-so-innocent. Most of the songs on my new album Qualms are rebukes of the current president and his garbage administration. But they’re post-love songs too. Tweaked so if you’re only listening casually you may think they’re breakup songs. Well they are that too. They’re breakup songs for people who are done with regressive, heartless dinosaurs. But you can enjoy them as spiteful, rueful, catchy rhyme delivery machines as well. Point them at whoever you want.

Brendan’s third album QUALMS is available now

--

--