INTERVIEW: Kenny Doughty on ‘Love, Lies & Records’, ‘Vera’ and travelling | CROOKES MAGAZINE

Adam Crookes
4 min readNov 4, 2017

--

Photo by Aliona Adrianova

Kenny has been starring in ITV’s hit crime drama ‘Vera’ for the past few years. Now, he is about to be seen in ‘Love, Lies’ & Records’ on BBC One, penned by the renowned writer Kay Mellor who Kenny has been keen to work with again after having a role in her TV Movie — ‘Gifted’. I spoke to Kenny Doughty about his role in ‘Love Lies & Records’.

“I’m answering these questions from my trailer in the middle of the Kielder Forest”

Interview by Adam Crookes

How did you land a role in ‘Love, Lies & Records’?

I auditioned for it. I met Kay, Yvonne (the producer) and David (casting) in London and we talked about the scripts and Rick. Even though I have worked with Kay before (on Gifted) and talked about working together again I never presumed or took for granted that we would get the chance to. I really wanted to play Rick and made sure that I didn’t let myself down in the audition. I worked on the scripts and the character and I’m really happy that I did. I left the audition knowing that I’d presented my best work. That’s all you can hope for as an actor. Do your best work and the rest is down to luck! It’s funny though to misquote a saying ‘The harder I work the luckier I get!’.

How much work did you do with Kay Mellor on your character?

As an actor I think one of your jobs is protect the character you’re playing and make them authentic and alive. The richer the writing the easier this is to do. So playing a character created by Kay isn’t too difficult because they already exist on the page. My job is to honour that and bring them alive by doing my work as actor — a combination of research, character building, script work and trusting instinct. If I was ever unclear about Rick then Kay would be there to share her insight. We had about 4 or 5 days rehearsal which is unheard of in TV — unheard of! It was absolute heaven to rehearse and these took place on location with our terrific director Dominic. His attention to character detail and scene intentions was invaluable and by the end of the rehearsal process all the actors were on the same page and excited to start filming.

Photo by Aliona Adrianova

The ratings are continuing to grow on ITV’s ‘Vera’, now seven seasons in, how long can you see it being on TV? I’m currently filming series 8 of Vera. On the final episode and it’s been, yet again, an amazing experience. Brenda is just world class and I think the series just gets better and better. Like a classic wine! As long as audiences keep enjoying it and ITV want to keep making it then I think there’s a few more glasses of vintage to be enjoyed!

Who are you really keen to work with?

I’ve been very lucky and worked with some fantastic actors, directors and writers but I would LOVE to work with Sally Wainwright. I think her scripts are perfect and I’m crossing my fingers that I get to work with her one day.

Photo by Aliona Adrianova

It’s been a few years now since you’ve done theatre work, is that something you plan to return to anytime soon?

I was last on stage in 2014 in the West End playing Gaz in The Full Monty. And I loved every second of it from rehearsal to finishing. Working with Simon Beaufoy & Daniel Evans was such a dream. If you’re lucky enough to be in a play that resonates with an audience it’s one of the best experiences in the world. To be in that time & space — in that moment on stage…live…and alive …it is to die for! So yes I am eager to return to the theatre. It’s why I became an actor. I always thought my acting life would be on stage before I left drama school but sometimes life has other plans for you.

Recently, where has been the most breathtaking location that your acting has taken you?

We film in some breathtaking locations on Vera. I’m answering these questions from my trailer in the middle of Kielder Forest which is stunning. Anyone who follows me on Instagram will see my photos of the locations we get to. And because of the crazy hours we work I always get to see these beauty spots at dawn or sunset! I think Northumberland and the North East is very special and to film here is a real privilege.

So is travelling a real passion of yours?

I love travelling. I’ve been lucky that work has taken me all over the world but there are still places I haven’t visited. I have a real desire explore Japan and also Iceland. Two countries to be stamped on my passport next!

Love, Lies & Records will premiere on Thursday 16 November at 9pm on BBC One

--

--