Republicans and Independents endorse Mark Kelly

Mark Kelly
4 min readJul 15, 2022

--

In 2020, a broad coalition of Arizona Democrats, Republicans, and Independents sent me to the Senate to focus on the issues that matter to all Arizonans. Since taking office, I’ve been doing everything I can to support hardworking families and get our economy back on track. That means working with members of both parties to get things done.

I’m proud to be ranked one of the most bipartisan members of the Senate. Arizonans want a Senator who puts the needs of the state ahead of party politics, and that’s exactly what I’m doing and will continue to do in Washington.

Our newly formed “Republicans for Kelly” coalition is made up of nearly 50 Arizona Republicans and Independents who’ve come together to endorse our campaign and help us move full speed ahead to Election Day.

I’m honored to have them on this mission with me.

— Mark Kelly

Here are just some of the Republican and Independent leaders who stand with Mark Kelly

Mark Kelly meets with Show Low Mayor John Leech and other rural mayors from around Arizona in Show Low City Hall.

Mayor John Leech, Show Low

“I’m supporting Senator Mark Kelly because he is working for rural Arizona in Washington. Whether he’s here in person listening to our town’s needs or constantly calling to check up on us or give us updates on our asks, I know that I have a hard-working partner in Senator Kelly, and that’s why I’m voting for him this November,”

– Mayor Leech

Mark Kelly poses for a photo with Kevin Heinonen and other Northern Arizona business leaders at a local business in Flagstaff, AZ.

Kevin Heinonen, owner of Tinderbox Kitchen in Flagstaff, AZ

“Senator Kelly is in touch with small business owners, listens to our concerns, always talks to us straight, and doesn’t get bogged down in all the raucous political insults that have, unfortunately, become the ‘norm’ of our time. I believe Senator Kelly is a true representative to those of us who ‘put our heads down and get to work.”

– Kevin Heinonen

Mayor Cathy Carlat, Peoria

“Senator Kelly has had an open-door policy for me as I sought support for the passage of bills that would be beneficial to the residents of Peoria, Arizona. I appreciate his knowledge, involvement, and efforts concerning these important issues.”

– Mayor Carlat

Vic Smith, CEO of JV Smith Companies

“Since the day he was elected, Senator Kelly has worked for all constituents in Arizona. He clearly cares about the agriculture industry and he actively brings together local stakeholders to solve problems. Mark Kelly is an excellent Senator — he is open-minded, cooperative, and always thinks of ways to improve the way things are. That’s what makes him the right fit to keep doing this job.”

– Vic Smith

Mark Kelly speaks with Mesa Mayor John Giles at Mesa’s Republica Empanada.

Mayor John Giles, Mesa

“I have enjoyed working with Senator Kelly — it’s clear he cares about Arizonans and what matters to them. He has engaged with the City of Mesa in multiple ways, helping revitalize our downtown with needed federal investments being just one of them. I appreciate his constant desire to serve the people he represents in Washington, and that’s why I am proud to support him for reelection.”

– Mayor Giles

Max Fose, President and CEO of Fose + McKay

“From my days working with Senator McCain, I know what a true public servant looks like. It means putting your constituents first, having open lines of communication, and doing the right thing regardless of political aim. Senator Kelly displays those qualities every day when he’s working diligently to make Arizonans’ lives better. That’s why I’m proud to support him in his bid for re-election.”

– Max Fose

Paul Charlton, Former U.S. Attorney

“Now, more than ever, our Nation needs proven, combat-tested leaders, who will put country before party. Our Nation needs Senator Mark Kelly.”

– Paul Charlton

Mayor Micah Powell, Eloy

“As a small town Mayor and an Independent, I care that my elected representatives take the time to visit my community and listen to our needs. Senator Kelly has done both and has proven himself to be a trusted federal partner for Eloy. He’s an efficient, down-to-earth leader, which is why I’m proud to support him again.”

– Mayor Powell

--

--

Mark Kelly

Navy combat veteran & retired NASA astronaut. Husband to @GabbyGiffords. Senator for the state of Arizona.