What is an INTJ?

Carmen B
3 min readJan 16, 2016

--

Where does INTJ come from? A long test courtesy of MYERS-BRIGGS.

“It’s lonely at the top, and being one of the rarest and most strategically capable personality types, INTJs know this all too well. INTJs form just two percent of the population, and women of this personality type are especially rare, forming just 0.8% of the population — it is often a challenge for them to find like-minded individuals who are able to keep up with their relentless intellectualism and chess-like maneuvering. People with the INTJ personality type are imaginative yet decisive, ambitious yet private, amazingly curious, but they do not squander their energy.”

It’s hard when things don’t go our way and especially hard when they go catastrophically wrong. We excel in control and crumble when we aren’t able to be the master of the situation.

I don’t talk often to others, which is ironic being in sales. That is actually a common pet peeve of the INTJ- to deal with sales people- which is why I was determined to be the one people can trust. I love technology, because it’s something I understand.

I admit my faults, which gets me in trouble, but I don’t have many. That’s not egotistical, rather true in the typical situation, when I can control the circumstances.

“In the broadest terms, what INTJs “do” tends to be what they “know”. Typical INTJ career choices are in the sciences and engineering, but they can be found wherever a combination of intellect and incisiveness are required (e.g., law, some areas of academia). INTJs can rise to management positions when they are willing to invest time in marketing their abilities as well as enhancing them, and (whether for the sake of ambition or the desire for privacy) many also find it useful to learn to simulate some degree of surface conformism in order to mask their inherent unconventionality.

Personal relationships, particularly romantic ones, can be the INTJ’s Achilles heel. While they are capable of caring deeply for others (usually a select few), and are willing to spend a great deal of time and effort on a relationship, the knowledge and self-confidence that make them so successful in other areas can suddenly abandon or mislead them in interpersonal situations.”

I luckily have a great partner who understands I’m eccentric and hard to tie down, yet he’s managed to keep me around for 4 years. It makes me the luckiest lady in the world, because he loves me despite my commanding and at times judgmental character.

This makes work friendships typically short lived, because I say just the right thing to piss someone off.

That’s life though for an INTJ; often unaccompanied by others.We aren’t detached, rather we would prefer to accomplish something then waste time with small talk.

So give us structure and peace and watch amazing happen.

--

--

Carmen B

Carmen B. Artist, Baker, Survivor, Mom, and Nerdy Geek.