Having each other’s backs.

That’s what the Anzac spirit is meant to be all about.

Carmen Hawker
2 min readApr 25, 2018

“Days such as this, commemorative days like Anzac Day, have a lot of memories for me as someone with an armed forces background. I was raised in a family full of traditions, structure, routines, regimentation and storytelling. Stories of wartime, struggles, hardship and loss. However, the overriding tone and messages to come out of this upbringing were loyalty, friendship, camaraderie, resilience, sense of belonging, humour. I grew up well aware of the horrors but realised that the strongest legacy of parents who had experienced war was a fierce dedication, loyalty and support of their family. Not once did I ever doubt that, no matter what happened, they had my back.

Fortuitously, forty years ago today I began a career that I loved and miss: nursing. One that afforded me the privilege of meeting so many different people from every walk of life, including my most loyal friend. We have shared the horrors, the heartache, the loss, that our job brought. But it also gave us many laughs, stories, and memories. Most of all, it gave us a friendship that has stood the test of time and we’ve had each others’ backs for forty years.

To my girls, in this world that is so often filled with confusion, difficulties, loss and doubts — never, ever be in any doubt that this family will support you no matter what and, for as long as I am here and able, I will always have your back.”*

I received this message from my Mum this morning.

Every time I read this my eyes are filled with tears.

I am grateful that she took the time to write this, this morning on a day filled with so many emotions for so many.

Having each other’s backs. That’s what it’s (meant to be) all about.

James and Pauline Kermode, British Army in the early 1940s.

If I’m honest, I’ve never really known what to make of today and I have plenty of thoughts about war, masculinity and nationalism not to mention my anger and frustration with how my friend Yassmin was treated after her #lestweforget tweet last year and the fact that so many Aboriginal men and women fought for a country that didn’t recognise them as people. These are all thoughts for another time, this post is my Mum’s. It’s my grandparents.

*Shared with her permission.

--

--

Carmen Hawker

Communicator, Creator & Campaigner | Writer & Storyteller | Tea lover, football tragic, feminist Crusader | Not necessarily in that order.