Img: Hope Sign | Why You Should Kill Your Hope | Acceptance and Self Growth | by Joshua Casey-Wytt | Medium
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Why You Should Kill Your Hope

I killed my hopes, and maybe you should too. Here’s a hard life lesson in acceptance and self growth from a long term cancer survivor.

Joshua Casey-Wytt
4 min readOct 13, 2021

--

It’s important to have hope. They say “hope is the last thing to be lost”, and when you finally lose that last thread, you feel utterly desperate. Hopeless.

But you may have also been a victim of hope.

I want to help you kill those hopes before they hurt you again.

how hope hurts

I was born with aggressive cancer in the late 1980s. I was very lucky to survive. The doctors said if I were born just a few years earlier I would have had no chance at all. To my parents, and to others who cared about me, I was a miracle.

There’s something profoundly life-affirming about being someone else’s miracle. I felt loved, even special. I grew up feeling stronger and more confident than this body ever had the right to be.

When you beat the odds, people will tell you the sky is the limit. I could be anything I wanted to be. I could do anything I could dream of.

Perhaps one day, even my health problems would be cured too.

--

--

Joshua Casey-Wytt

Co-founder of ProjectDreamcatcher.org, Computer Scientist. Long-term cancer survivor, sharing my journey of Mindfulness and Personal Development.