How NOT to launch a business networking community in VR

Casie Lane Millhouse
3 min readMay 8, 2022

--

So, ideas aren’t shit if you can’t execute on them.

I know, you know…. but do you really know?

Without experiencing an execution f*ck up first hand, one’s drive towards success isn’t as clear. That’s what I’ve learned launching the world’s first Business Networking Club in VR.

2 months ago I found myself exhausted from work and the inbound requests from people on Linkedin either wanting an introduction to someone at work or a coffee “to pick my brain” over Zoom. Zoom fatigue is real, folks.

Thanks to my amazing team lead, Dan Moller, he helped me find a balance of networking/work/life/play in my own way. Here was what my wants and needs are:

  1. I want a sense of belonging to a community of forward-thinkers but I can not prioritise webinars, organizing events for the VRARA chapter & committees I’m in.
  2. I want to connect with people who inspire me, teach me or challenge me to think in a new way.
  3. I want to learn golf, but I don’t have the time or money to join a club and get a coach to help me. I’m pretty damn competitive (previous life of a high-performance gymnastics coach and elite gymnast here.)
  4. I want to explore social interactions in VR. I believe it isn’t meant to be a solitary experience and going to be the end of real life connections.
  5. I want to use the hardware products the company I work for builds.

So, I came up with an idea to Golf in VR with my professional connections on LinkedIn.

Now, here comes the parts where things go wrong and how you can benefit!

What not to do building a community:

  1. Don’t have a space where community members can connect with each other. Linkedin groups suck and so do group messages. Facebook group was my next option, but not everyone wants to hangout on Facebook for business. This includes me, unless I need it specifically with the Spark AR community to do my job. Another slack isn’t something people want to stay much long in either.
  2. Don’t have reminders set for you or your community members. Founders, investors, executives at major technology companies have a busier schedules compared to me. We all missed things.
  3. Don’t make events available in timezones when people you want in your community should be sleeping. I’m in Singapore expecting them to wake up at 6am for golf. Hey, IRL this could happen right?
  4. Don’t tell community members what to do next after the event.
  5. Don’t re-engage with them.

So, now I’ve gotta re-think this and make it better. Always happy to take on suggestions and you can do that in comments or maybe join me with this experiment I call FOREward.

FOREward is a club of forward-thinkers networking in VR Golf.

FOREward Criteria:
1. A commitment and curiosity for 2 hrs — we will not play for 2 hours but you need time to set-up your space, get into a party and get us introduced. Then afterwards, you may need some cool off time and rest. I know I do.

2. You have access to a Quest 2 or Rift or Rift and be willing to purchase GOLF+.

3. You don’t mind another club member (me) swearing a lot. Swearing is fun in VR too!

4. You are currently in an executive role or you are taking a sabbatical or maybe happy you left one or you could be someone who likes to invest, invent or research in immersive technology.

Come join us!

--

--

Casie Lane Millhouse

Currently at Meta building Augmented Reality things 😎 Futurist ✨ I love GIFs & walking on my hands.