Cassandra Peak
Dec 15, 2021

Deserving

One too many times

I sat in that room

You towering over me

I’d say to you

Mommy, I’m scared

Please make him stop

All you did was

Stand and stare

Coldly

Like I deserved it

Always my fault

I would shiver, cry, and beg

Please Mommy, why are you letting this happen?

Tears would pour

It didn't matter

The hands began to touch

As my soul began to drown

I’d look up

Hoping you would save me

There you stood still

While it went on

In your unloving eyes

Mommy, mommy don’t you love me a bit?

Nothing

My heart sunk

Further into the filthy water

The dirty deed done

Once again

I’d look into your loveless eyes

Mommy, why do I deserve this?

Cassandra Peak

I've lived fifty-one years on this planet, and still trying to figure out who I am. I am an autistic poetry writer...amongst other things.