A Kotlin Cryptocurrency Tracker App (to some degree).

Charles E.
AndroidPub
Published in
6 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

HODL

So…A few weeks ago I read this nifty article by Indrek Lasn.
He created a very basic cryptocurrency tracker using React Native.

It was a pretty good read. In fact, it was so good that it inspired me to do an article of my own…about creating a very basic…cryptocurrency tracker? (uh, yea), but this time using Kotlin (accompanying GitHub repo).

Finished product (for now at least)

I started this in Java originally, but I figured for the article I’d go the Kotlin route (it being the new kid on the block and all).

To get things started there are a few things to note:

  1. Android Studio 3.0 and greater is recommended; Kotlin comes bundled with version 3.0.
    To install Kotlin on a pre 3.0 version Android studio (why haven’t you updated yet? shame on you!) follow these steps:
    - Go to File | Settings | Plugins | Install JetBrains plugin… and then search for and install Kotlin. If you are looking at the “Welcome to Android Studio” screen, choose Configure | Plugins | Install JetBrains plugin… You’ll need to restart the IDE after this completes.
  2. I’ll be using the CoinMarketCap API, (and I’ll also be assuming…

--

--