Climate Change Data Preservation Goes National

Mayor Rahm Emanuel announced that 12 other cities have joined the City of Chicago in posting research from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Climate Change Website after the Trump administration unceremoniously removed it from the federal government’s websites on April 29.

After the creation of the City of Chicago “Climate Change is Real” website on May 7, Mayor Emanuel called on other Mayors to post the climate change information, ensuring the public has ready access to information the EPA developed over decades of research. The Mayors and cities posting information include:

Mayor Kasim Reed of Atlanta, Georgia (website)

Mayor Marty Walsh of Boston, Massachusetts (website)

Mayor Steve Hagerty of Evanston, Illinois (website)

Mayor Lioneld Jordan of Fayetteville, Arkansas (website)

Mayor Sylvester Turner of Houston, Texas (website)

Mayor Tom Barrett of Milwaukee, Wisconsin (website)

Mayor Mitch Landrieu of New Orleans, Louisiana (website)

Mayor Jim Kenney of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (website)

Mayor Ted Wheeler of Portland, Oregon (website)

Mayor Ed Lee of San Francisco, California (website)

Mayor Ed Murray of Seattle, Washington (website)

Mayor Lyda Krewson of St. Louis, Missouri (website)

The Chicago Department of Innovation and Technology has uploaded this information to an open-sourced website so that other cities, academic institutions, and organizations can post it to their own websites at It includes information on the basic science behind climate change, the different ways in which weather is impacted from increased greenhouse gas emissions, and actions the federal government has taken to reduce the impact.