I am the sun.

Cameron Highlands

HLDRMN
3 min readMar 3, 2015

--

I’ve spent 4 days in Cameron Highlands. It’s small, has many hiking trails and I don’t really know why I spent 4 days here but I’m guessing it’s because of the people I’m with, but one thing is for sure. It was quite awesome.

To be fair, we kinda arrived late on out first day and we mainly just chilled at the hostel and walked around the very small town of Tanah Rata until our other friend from Penang messaged us that he absolutely hated Ipoh and decided to join us as well in Cameron Highlands. Pretty sure he just missed us. Too funny.

The second day things got good and we went hiking. This time no flipflops but some cheap ass Topman shoes I bought months ago. That hike was probably the hardest hike I did, because the only hike I ever did back in London was the staircase in the house. Now I had to climb muddy rocks, fallen tree trunks, hold on the roots to swing past something and slide down rocks. The sliding part happened quite often on my part. My cheap shoes + muddy areas really is a bad combo. That was probably the first mini mountain I climbed with 2 others.

Day 3 was a fail…sort of. We planned to wake up at 6 to see the sunrise from the highest mountain in Malaysia that is accessible by car but our bus dropped us way below the top and we couldn’t hike up because 1 friend twisted her ankle. No problem though, there were still loads of others things to see. Unfortunately seeing all those other things like the strawberry farms and a teafield didn’t work out as well. We all kinda accepted that that day was a really bad day until we decided to hitchhike for fun and a pickup truck stopped. We ended up in the back, so while that guy went highspeed around the mountainside roads we would fly all over the back. Could’ve died but the fun made it worth it and definitely a highlight. Ended up hitchhiking again that day but that was just a normal car ride.

Day 4 was the highlight of Cameron Highlands. We woke up at 6, hired a taxi for 5 people, went to the top of the mountain (altitude 2200 meters) and saw the most amazing sunrise ever. I don’t really know how to describe it because on pictures it just looks like an orange strepsil in the sky. After that we hiked down the mountain which was very good. It was mossy, muddy, steep, very slippery and if you didn’t make any sounds you could hear hundreds of monkeys making noise. I was like the skinny white Tarzan I guess. Everyone slipped at least once or got cuts from the spiked branches. I had both. It was fun.

That was pretty much my stay at Cameron highlands and once again I’m in the bus but this time headed to the airport and leaving Malaysia. Will be going to Cambodia feeling quite unprepared but I guess that’s what makes it more exciting as well.

It’s like we’re going into space but really, It’s a watchtower on a mountain.

--

--

HLDRMN

Photoshop guy for music people & probably somewhere in Asia right now