You Don’t Need A Life Coach

You Just Need A Vision

4 min readJul 27, 2016

--

By Chris Kyle

A few months ago I came to the realization that my vision for the future wasn’t clear. Over the last year I had collected lots of ideas on what I would like my life to look like. These included the type of values I wanted to adopt and the habits I wanted to build. But all this was spread over several notebooks and note taking apps. As a result, I had no clarity of my future.

So I set myself a challenge. Could I take my vision for a future dream life and squeeze it onto an A4 piece of paper?

Here’s what I came up with:

I called it the OnePageLifeCoach. It contains 10 boxes, each with a heading relating to self-improvement and growth.

1. MISSION STATEMENT

A personal mission statement will bring focus and purpose to your life. The aim is to remind yourself of who you want to become. It’s your why. Why are you trying to improve yourself? Why is it important to you? The magic happens when you begin to make your statement a way of life. It will become part of everything you do. It will keep you going when times get tough. It will be your style, your calling card, your legacy.

2. DREAM LIFE

There is magic in your dreams. It is the light at the end of the tunnel. It can get you through the worst day, week or even year of your life. The secret to living your dream life is getting crystal clear on what it looks like. Only then will you be able to take the steps necessary to make your dream come true.

3. CORE VALUES

Core values are the guiding principles that dictate your behaviour. Knowing your core values will give you clarity about the type of person you want to be. They will make it easy for you to understand right from wrong. They will shape your decision making and your life choices.

4. GOALS

Your goals are the things you want to achieve in both the short and long term. They are powerful because they can act as a target for you to aim for. They will motivate you to take action and then boost your self confidence when you succeed.

5. DAILY HABITS

Your dream life is the destination. Your goals are the places you’ll visit along the way. Your habits then are the vehicles that will take you on the journey. They are the daily actions you’ll take to help you achieve your goals. Start small to build effective habits.

6. GRATITUDE

Gratitude is a state of mind that can lead to extraordinary results. It’s essential to a life well lived, and practicing it everyday has many benefits. Sometimes we just need a reminder of who and what to be thankful for.

7. AFFIRMATIONS

Affirmations are short powerful statements designed to cement your conscious thoughts. They shift negative thinking and give you a more optimistic outlook on your future.

8. IDEAS TO LIVE BY

Every day you’ll encounter nuggets of gold. Ideas and information that you’ll read or hear, that are worth remembering. Often we let these great ideas pass us by and forget about them. Don’t forget. Add a few big idea that you want to remember.

9. INSPIRATIONAL QUOTE

The wise words of others can motivate us to do great things. They can spark ideas and give us a perspective we hadn’t seen before. Reading a quote from your hero is sometimes all you need to completely change your mindset.

10. LAST REVISED

This innocuous little box looks insignificant doesn’t it? It is actually the key to making the OnePageLifeCoach work for you. This is because you’ll start growing and improving as a result of using the page. And this is turn mean you’re goals, values, habits and maybe even your dream life will begin to change. Aim to review your page every month with a view to updating the information you’re written in the boxes. If you notice you haven’t updated your page in a while, it’s time to put the kettle on and get reviewing.

I’ve been reading my page everyday since I came up with the concept. Has it made a difference? I think so. I’m more aware of what I’m working hard for and my all important WHY is definitely more concrete in my mind.

Wanna try it?

No problem. You can download it from OnePageLifeCoach.com. It’s free. You don’t even need to leave an email address. Download it. Print it. Fill it in. Change your life

Thanks for reading.

☞ If you’re interested in finding out more about my productivity system, you can download the free setup pdf here: Strikethru

☞ Want to install some healthy habits? Check out The Habit Journal

--

--

Senior Scrum Master | Habit Nerd | Productivity Geek