Why You Lose Him When You Want Him Most.

Chris Marchie
2 min readDec 13, 2019

I wish I saw it sooner.

Photo by Atikh Bana on Unsplash

He ran through my thoughts constantly.

Before I saw him, I ran to the mall and picked up 3 new shirts and a pair of pants. I hit the gym extra hard. I even made sure my sweatpants were freshly washed so they made my butt look just right.

When I saw him, it was hard to breathe. I constantly questioned whether he wanted to be together. How we could be together. When he’d just make up his mind, damn it, and make this official.

Within weeks, it had all fallen apart. I started losing sleep over him. The texts went unanswered. Reminders of “I love you” went ignored. The more I tried, the more he fled.

I couldn’t understand at the time, but he told me exactly why.

“I just wanted to talk…like old times”.

Here’s the thing.

I’ve had friends admit to liking me. Or loving me. And I’d sit there and wonder why they liked me so much but the person I really liked could hardly make eye contact.

When we are with people we like, we act like total weirdos. We watch our words. We make sure we walk a certain way. We pretend we’re interested in things we don’t even like.

--

--