Do You Know Why Divorce Is So Expensive?

Because It’s Totally Worth It!

Dr. Chris
6 min readDec 16, 2021
Divorce, while expensive, is most definitely worth it for some!
Divorce Is Expensive but totally worth it! Source: Depositphotos.com

While divorce is certainly no joke to most of us, I want to show you how it can be one of the most valuable lessons life can throw at us. I will also give you actionable advice on ways to save yourself some massive headaches, maybe even some money, and not make the same idiotic mistakes I made.

Yes, this article is written from an unashamedly male perspective. I won’t apologize for it — It’s the only one I’ve got. While it is directed at men in similar situations, I invite anyone to read it to get a better understanding of what some of us go through.

My Divorce Cost Me More Than 2 Million Dollars. Ouch!

I am lucky to have a good income, but that certainly was a lot of money.

While my circumstances will be different from yours, I believe that my past situation is not too uncommon: I was the sole breadwinner, had 2 kids, and she was a stay-at-home mother.

While the actual divorce application only costs about AU$2000, the ex took 78% of whatever I had managed to squirrel away in the combined 43 years of my life before the divorce was finalized. My 3 lawyers cost me about AU$68000 for their “struggles” and it would have been more if I would have stuck around with the…

--

--

Dr. Chris

Well traveled, well read, well worn. Studied Medicine in Germany and practice Anaesthesiology in Australia. Integrated man. CalmForSurgery.com