5 ways you can use Notion

Callan
3 min readAug 1, 2018

--

Notion is one of the best productivity tools I’ve ever used but most people struggle with the flexibility of it.

So, to give an idea of what kind of things Notion can be used for, I’ve created 5 templates you can easily recreate(or copy using the URL given at the end).

If you don’t know about notion yet I recommend this article by Francesco D’Alessio.

Habit Tracker

Yes, there are dedicated habit trackers which might be better if you like in-depth statistics (for iOS I recommend Momentum, Loop for Android). But for those who don’t need all that, Notion is a great option.

Habit tracker inside notion

I have a page for every month and copy this habit tracker template inside it. The days can be configured using the properties.

Using properties to edit the amount of days

Book list

One of the things I use Notion for is tracking things. Since I’m a dedicated reader I have my booklist inside Notion (For a dedicated book tracker I recommend goodreads.com)

A book tracker inside notion

I input the date of the purchase, the rating, the amount of pages, the price and the hours roughly spent reading it.

Journal

While journaling isn’t the first thing you think of in a productivity app there are many benefits I found for myself using a journal as a reflective tool, but also a good place for writing down progress on my goals.

Journal template

In Notion there are different views for data. In the calendar view above you can see the days that currently have a journal entry. The blue, new item button creates a new entry.

Example journal entry

Of course, for something with a more organized view, the calendar view can be changed into a table.

Journal table view

Quantified self

Self-knowledge through numbers, a way of writing down specific life data to track progress and diagnose problems. I use this template to, on a scale from one to ten, track my productivity, mood and energy. In the achievement column I write down what I achieved on that day.

Spendings

While I don’t recommend saving important financial data in any app, it’s quite useful for things like the food budget.

Clicking on the week page shows the weekly budget.

Weekly budget

While it isn’t the perfect solution, as it requires you to recalculate the monthly budget while editing the weekly budgets, it could still be useful for those who don’t need the power of something like Mint.

You can find the templates here:

Worth Reading?

Please click the clap button if you like the story or leave a comment. It helps more people see it and motivates me to write even more.

--

--