Thanking Santa for My Christmas Wish

Not just this year but all the years

Clara
4 min readDec 23, 2022
Photo by Edgar on Unsplash

Dear Santa,

It’s Clara. Well, not Clara, but you know the real me under this persona. You know all about me. I’ve been on your books for many years. I like to think we’re old friends with less emphasis on the OLD.

I was going to write you a letter in the classic style of asking for things. A new candle or spicy lingerie to wear for my boyfriend. Then I stopped. Sitting in my office, I thought about what I needed. I realized I don’t want more stuff because I have enough stuff.

Instead, let me thank you for the gifts you’ve already given me.

Let the Thanks be to you for once.

You’ve given me more than you think. You heard me ask you for some toys when I was a little girl. You knew it was hard for my parents in those lean years, so you suggested to my Mom and Dad which doll I would love the most. So thank you for guiding them in the right direction. I loved that doll and still have it. I gave it to my daughter as a child so she could love it too.

Thank you for the joy of childhood.

As a young adult, you still believed in me when I didn’t believe in you as much. You heard me wish my parents would get back together over…

--

--

Clara

We are all more than what we seem. I am a broken crayon that still colors. You are too. Keep making your life into a work of art.