Beginner woodworking projects — 15 Easy Wood Projects

Claude
6 min readApr 5, 2017

--

Easy woodworking projects are a great way to test your DIY skills. It doesn’t matter if you’re new to woodworking, these wood craft ideas are cool projects for everyone!

Easy Woodworking Projects for Beginners to Start With

It’s always such an accomplishment when you finish a DIY project you spent time and effort on. Ever since I learned how to use my hammer and nails, every finished project feels exhilarating! True, woodworking projects can be intimidating at first, especially with all the tools you must use. But after completing my first project, I realized it’s just the same as any craft project I work on. Each project just needs a little time and effort… and some passion too! Check out these easy woodworking projects I have for you today!

1. DIY Saw Horse

I want to start off this list with a DIY woodworking project that will be very helpful to you. A saw horse always comes in handy, especially if you plan to do tons of woodworking projects in the future. My husband already built us a pair at home, and it’s been working hard ever since! Before you get started on this woodworking project, get one of these extension cords with built-in outlets to help you out!

2. DIY Hanging Planter

Hanging planters are a big hit nowadays, which gives you no excuse as to why you shouldn’t even attempt to make your own DIY hanging planter. Learn how to work a jigsaw and make this stunning planter to hang in your home.

3. Pallet Wood Wall Art

I’ve got tons of wood wall art signs in our home, and I want more! I used to buy them all, but now, everything’s personalized and customized by yours truly. If you want to try your hand at making these wood crafts, this pallet wood sign plans will guide you through.

4. Glowing Table

A glowing table? Is this for real? You bet! There’s actually no chemical equations, magic, nor sorcery involved in making this; it’s just plain woodworking and some glow in the dark paint! I think the kids will really love this amazing glowing table!

5. Amazingly Easy DIY Metal Pipe Table

Apart from loving rustic designs, I also have a place in my heart for industrial designs–which is why this DIY metal pipe table is on my list of wood crafts to do. I like the rugged appeal! But best of all, it’s sooo easy to make! Check out woodworking plans.

6. DIY Utensil Organizer

I’ve already made my own DIY utensil organizer and man, I love it so much! I’m planning to make another one for my daughter and use it as her personal art kit organizer. You really must do this project because it’s very useful!

7. DIY Wooden Clothes Rack in Under 15 Minutes

This fast and easy woodworking project will give you more space for your clothes. It only takes 15 minutes to finish this project. I think this simple DIY wood clothes rack will be the kids’ go-t0 coat hanger from now on.

8. DIY Circle Wood Shelf

Oooh! So classy and beautiful, and it just landed a spot on my list of woodworking projects to do ASAP! I can already envision it… potted flowers, a cute small clock, and a couple of picture frames on that DIY circular wood shelf. Effortlessly beautiful!

9. Minimal X-Shaped Coasters

I don’t think there’s going to be a woodworking project as easy as this one! Do yourself a favor and make these chic X-shaped coasters because it will come in handy when there are guests around.

10. DIY Office Supply Tray

Having a hard time finding your office supplies? Put them all in one place with this great DIY organizer. Trust me, you won’t even break a sweat!

11. DIY Holder for Wine Bottle and Glasses

Here’s a craft project for those wine lovers out there. Make this DIY wine glass holder and bring your wine bottle and glasses wherever the party is.

12. Wooden Bookends

This project is really cool! If you have reclaimed wood at home, this is a good project to take on. Add these DIY wooden bookends to your room, and let it be the accent piece your table or bookshelf deserves.

13. Rustic Hook Decor

Create a rustic hook that doubles as home decor and a great place to hang stuff. I’ve already made a similar wooden hook before. and it has been very useful for storing our clothes.

14. DIY X-Brace Bench

This DIY X-brace bench is just too gorgeous not to try to make. It does look a bit intimidating, doesn’t it? I might enlist the help of my husband here, which I’m sure he’ll be happy to do. This bench will look so good in our backyard!

15. Tiered Garden Shelf

If you love gardening, you’ll love this easy woodworking project. You can make your own tiered garden shelf and use it as your planter box or maybe your potting tool organizer, too.

After seeing our list of easy woodworking projects, now you know that wood isn’t really hard to work with. If you have the proper tools and a little know-how, I’m sure you can make one or twenty-two of these DIY wood projects. From planters to tables, get your woodworking gear on and get to work! With some motivation and inspiration, I’m sure you’ll do wonderful things with these easy woodworking projects!

And if you need more help with your woodworking projects, check out the woodworking plans

--

--