My Life in Fur (Part 1)

The Accidental Audition

Clay Rivers
Published in
6 min readApr 8, 2018

--

Image by jinndev.deviantart.com

Recently, the Medium publication C(G) S N A P S H O T S issued a challenge in which participants were invited to submit images for their Snapshot Selfie Challenge. I opted to submit a snapshot of a few mementos that signified different periods of my life. Oddly enough, the one object in my snapshot that garnered the most comments was a vintage Donald Duck bobblehead from the late 1960s or early 1970s, described in the accompanying text as: symbol of my former alter-ego, vehicle of torture, and self-discovery — let’s talk about that some time.

Donald Duck bobblehead (circa late 1960s/early 1970s) and the author’s old Disney name tag.

Well … the time has come.

We all have backstories; adventures and foibles few would believe the people we are now would have ever been a party to. So in the interest of mixing it up a little, I’m unpacking the story behind the bobblehead in two installments. Enjoy!

Living life to the fullest in college became an expensive undertaking. I needed a little more cash to keep my collegiate lifestyle afloat. Christmas break 1981, I applied for a seasonal job at Walt Disney World, knowing they’d usher me into a high-paying office job related to my Communications major for the two weeks of…

--

--

Clay Rivers

Artist, author, accidental activist, & EIC Our Human Family (http://medium.com/our-human-family) and OHF Weekly (https://www.ohfweekly.org) Twitter: @clayrivers