The Fastest Way To Install Terraform, Helm, Jenkins, AWS CLI, and Kubectl

Nwokolo Emmanuel
4 min readApr 4, 2023

GOAL:

  • How to run one script that saves you time.

Yes, I know it’s weird that I used Flash as the cover, but I am just trying to show you how fast this method is.

Heyy! Welcome to another blog.

In this blog, I will be sharing with you a script I wrote that helps to install Terraform, Helm, Jenkins, AWS CLI, and Kubectl with just one command.

I know how stressful the manual installation of these tools on a newly spun machine can be, so trust me, I’ve been there.

I created a script that helps you install everything with just one command.

If you are like me that love to destroy and spin up a new machine when something goes wrong, then this script is a goldmine.

Prerequisites:

  • You must have an Ubuntu machine (since that’s what I am working with).

You can create an Ubuntu machine from any cloud provider like DigitalOcean.

They give you a free $200 bonus on signup. Click HERE to get your $200 after signing up with your account.

You can also follow HERE to see how I documented the creation of an Ubuntu machine after signing up on Digital Ocean.

THE SCRIPT

Below is the script to help you install Terraform, Helm, Jenkins, AWS CLI, and Kubectl.

Create a new file and name it `script.sh`. Copy, paste, and save the below commands into it:

Before we can run this script, we have to make it executable.

We can achieve that by typing this on the Command Line Interface (CLI):

$ chmod +x script.sh

The step above makes our script executable, and you can confirm it by this command:

$ ls -al
outputs

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2338 Mar 24 20:47 script.sh

The result should be similar to the above one.

Now you can run the script with the following command:

$ ./script.sh

After running the script above, the installation should start.

There will be some prompts while the script is running, and all you are required to do is click the `Enter` button.

After `Jenkins` has been installed and `ufw` asks to be enabled, click on the `y` button to confirm it, as shown in the picture below:

Now that the script has run its course, you can test your installations by typing in `terraform`, and you will get an output as shown in the picture below:

You can also test the installation of `kubectl` and the other tools that were installed.

To access your Jenkins server, copy the public IP address of the VM and open it on port 8080 `<public IP>:8080` on the browser:

<public IP>:8080

The URL will give you access to the Jenkins `Getting Started` page that gives you administrative access to the server.

If you are using AWS, you may need to add port 8080 to the security group, and boom! Everything is up and running.

This process would take you only four (4) minutes which is way better than putting each command one at a time into the terminal!

See you in my next post!

NOTICE

There is a platform called `Mastermind` where you can learn more about becoming a Cloud Engineer, the tools you need to build your projects, and getting your dream job.

You can get more details by clicking this Link.

NOTE: If you have any questions or want to add to this blog, you can send me an E-mail. And I reply faster to people that subscribe to my newsletter!!

Conclusion

If you loved this blog post, please, give it a like, comment, and don’t forget to click the follow button.

And if you would love to get an update on the two exciting blogs I will be posting this week, then you should sign up for my newsletter right here!!

--

--

Nwokolo Emmanuel

I am a Cloud Engineer, I love sharing easy solutions to problems that I found difficult. Interested in Open Source | twitter: twitter.com/CloudTopG