In Their Own Words: Meet Mandisha Thomas

CoSF Observer
3 min readMay 18, 2018

--

City of South Fulton residents are set to vote in a number of key elections. We reached out to the candidates with four questions to learn more about them and let residents hear from them “in their own words.” (All responses were sent to us electronically and have not been edited or altered in any way.)

Mandisha Thomas is a candidate in the race for State Representative in House District 65.

Q: Why are you running for office?

A: As a 13-year resident of District 65, and a community advocate, I’m committed to ensuring that District 65 has dedicated, present, proactive and accountable leadership at the state level. I am deeply committed to working with District 65 residents and stakeholders to tackle a number of issues facing our community, including industrial and illegal waste dumping, food deserts, transit justice and urban green space.

Q: What experience do you bring to the office?

A: I have labored in my community for over a decade working to address District 65’s needs. I have worked diligently with local advocacy groups including Keep South Fulton Beautiful, where I am a board member, the South Fulton Food Policy Council, where I serve as Vice Chair, the South Fulton Parkway Alliance, where I am a member and the Cliftondale Community Club, where I have managed one of the area’s longest running community-engagement events for the past seven years. I also worked for several years on the cityhood campaign on behalf of the residents of South Fulton, including lobbying senators and house legislators in 2016. Most recently, I served as a legislative aide to Rep. Debra Bazemore working hard for Georgia residents under the Gold Dome during the 2018 legislative session.

I also believe that my professional experience and education serve me well in this endeavor. I am a healthcare professional and entrepreneur. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Grambling State University and my Master of Science in Administration from Central Michigan University.

Q: What would be your top priorities if elected?

A: With input, support and collaboration from District 65 residents, I am already working on measures to ensure perpetrators of illegal dumping are caught and held accountable. I am working with local farmers to ensure residents have access to nutritious food, especially our students in local schools. I have created Protecting Our Green Space (POGS), a program designed to help economic development departments within municipalities and community members work more collaboratively to ensure communities are not adversely impacted by development. I have also created a Smart Growth Plan that outlines my approach to attracting quality medical facilities and other types of development that would be beneficial to the residents of District 65.

Q: What are the biggest challenges facing South Fulton, and how do you plan to address them under the Gold Dome?

A: Two of the biggest challenges are economic development and transportation. As these issues are tackled at the state level, it will be important for District 65 to have representation that will advocate for smart growth and transit justice.

In District 65, we want to maintain a balance between green space and growth. We want to ensure that development does not adversely impact our communities, but instead enhance residents’ lives. Quality medical facilities, recreation centers for youth, community gardens, sidewalks and walking trails would all be welcomed additions to the area.

Portions of District 65 are in need of critical transportation improvements. However, we need to ensure that as transit options expand, residents’ quality of life is not compromised. Factors like air quality and public safety have to be considered as transportation options are explored.

For more information about Mandisha Thomas, visit www.mandishathomas.com.

For more information and updates as the City of South Fulton takes shape, visit and follow www.facebook.com/cosfobserver or www.twitter.com/cosfobserver. Have information to share? Email us at info@cosfobserver.com.

--

--

CoSF Observer

Updates and observations as the City of South Fulton (Georgia) takes shape. Visit us at www.cosfobserver.com and follow us on social media @COSFObserver.