Who is the Coalition for Critical Technology?

This letter is the result of a collaborative, multidisciplinary effort; more than twenty scholars made significant contributions to early drafts. These contributions were facilitated and synthesized by a core editorial team that includes: Chelsea Barabas (MIT), Audrey Beard (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Dr. Theodora Dryer (NYU), Dr. Beth Semel (MIT), and Sonja Solomun (McGill).

The academic collective that has emerged from this process will engage in future conversations as the Coalition For Critical Technology. We are part of a growing community of scholars who are challenging academia’s key role in the creation and maintenance of carceral technology. The Coalition aims to support larger movements of scholars, technologists, and organizers who are working for justice by resisting technologies that exacerbate inequality, reinforce racism, and support the carceral state.

Our approach involves continuous reevaluation of epistemic norms and interrogation of how knowledge is valued, created, and employed through academic power structures.

Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch

Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore

Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store