Metro Redux on PS4, the best Metro yet!

Roman Kuba
2 min readNov 2, 2015

--

A short heads up to every PS4 owner out there. This week (oct/nov 2015) on sale is the Metro 2033 Redux package including both games. As I played the first Metro 2033 when it came out on PC I was a big fan of this underrated franchise.

The game happens in a post-apocalyptic future where people fled into the Metro below Moscow to escape the nuclear bombings and the following winter.

When I saw the upgraded edition was on sale (~ EUR 10) I had to get it.

Last night, I had to give it a shot. Hell, was I impressed.
It not only looked way better than I had it in memory, it also felt very smooth and thought through on Playstation. The biggest change for me was obviously switching from keyboard and mouse to a gamepad. And what the Team behind the game had in store for me was impressive

Incredimazing immersion

Of course, playing a shooter can be a very immersive experience most times. But the biggest change in the experience this time came from the DualShock 4 controller.

Sneaking is a big part of the game. You have to hide in the shadows, destroy lights and so on. On PC a light indicator showed the current visibility to enemies when lurking around. This time light bar on the back of the controller is the indicator.
Imagine sitting in a dark room, and on the screen you sneak through the shadows. Suddenly a light points at your character and the controllers lightbar starts glowing like crazy. It’s like holding a flashlight in your hand. What’s going on, danger danger…
I started running away with my character into a corridor till the light of the controller went away again.

It was just now I realized what happened. From there on I always had a feeling of my surrounding without looking at a indicator to tell me if I would be visible or not. This felt amazing and just made me realize again how good the Dualshock 4 controller is.

Get it

I can highly recommend to get this game. Not only did the creators pull of a great, creative and thought through controller integration, they also created one of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the gameplay is very rich and challenging. I highly recommend to grab this title.

--

--

Roman Kuba

Code, Design and Web experienced by a part-time-nerd. Working @Codeship as Frontend Developer. Follow me on Twitter @Codebryo