Carthage vs Cocoapods

Ai-Lyn Tang
1 min readApr 4, 2017

--

This is more of a placeholder article than an informative one. Sadly I didn’t write this up quickly enough and now most of the information has trickled away from my memory.

Carthage gives you more control over what is added to your project file. You can specify updates which are backwards compatible to specific versions. The down side is that there is more setup to use Carthage. However this gives you the flexibility to ignore the Carthage file in the future if you want to download the project without the extra ‘bloat’.

Pods are simpler to install as a newbie. It sure was ultra simple once I knew what I was doing. Here’s my blog post on installing a pod. However the downside is that it installs quite a lot in your project.

I’m sure there’s a lot more. For now, that’s all I remember.

--

--

Ai-Lyn Tang

After a decade in strategy for tech firms, I’m now an iOS developer! Looking for mentors on this journey :)