The Definitive Guide For Leaving Your First Software Engineering Job

Cody Engel
11 min readDec 30, 2018

This morning I was browsing Reddit when I stumbled upon a post in /r/cscareerquestions titled Is there a guide on how to move on from your first job? At first this seemed like a strange request, why do you need an entire guide around how to do this? Then I started thinking a bit more and remembering what it was like when I first entered into the industry and I realized it probably would have been incredibly helpful had a guide existed (or if I read through one), since a lot of the questions the person asked made perfect sense. I wanted to take the chance today to respond to the questions they asked.

How do you find time for interviews?

Finding time to interview can seem fairly daunting at first but it really isn’t too bad, especially if you are selective with the places you’ve applied at. This all starts with what type of interview you are doing which I’d break up into three different types which have an increasing time commitment.

Interviewing with the recruiter.

I’m a little hesitant to bucket this into an interview since the time commitment is so small but you are still talking about your experience and this is typically the first step companies take to vet candidates. In these cases you are safe to block…

--

--