Buoyant Melancholy

Colette
1 min readJul 28, 2016

--

Pale blue swirls of melancholy hold me.
Who would have thought that sadness could be buoyant?

My spirit reads like an emotional campaign.
Defeat comes only with combat and I have no passion left for battle.

I am weary.

I find respite in these blue swirls.
I flow with them, allow them to carry me where they may go.
I am spent from swimming against the current,
from treading water in a bid for air and understanding.

With pain and angels intertwined I descend below the surface
and trust that I am one with it all.
That for a moment, I can NOT be.
That I am whitewashed walls in a land with no light,
air within a vacuum.
That I cannot be empty for the receptacle is a fallacy.

This is it.

Pale blue swirls of buoyant melancholy.

--

--

Colette

I'm not a marshmallow kind of person. I'm more a hard toffee kinda girl. More intense flavour but not everyone has the teeth for me.