What Would Happen If [WWHI]

Declan Spade
2 min readDec 2, 2016

--

Human Entertainment, Humour, contributed by guest writer Gerry Wangst.

Digital Artwork by Felice Jink.

WWHI I became a journalist: I get angry and preach to the converted, the converted get angry and preach to the converted who didn’t hear me the first time, and amidst all this anger nothing gets done.

WWHI I became an inspirational speaker: mass ritualistic suicide by auto-erotic asphyxiation.

WWHI I became a lecturer: inspire a generation of liberal arts students to start a progressive synth jazz-core band and became famous in the Bandcamp community.

WWHI I became a musician: send morally ambiguous messages that most people consider politically incorrect and morally corrupting leading me to become a social media pariah and eventually my own untimely death aged 27 under mysterious circumstances.

WWHI I became an engineer: I’d become a super-villain hell bent on global domination and maybe Zack Snyder might make a movie about me.

WWHI I wrote and drew a commercially and critically acclaimed comic book and some critic says I’m the new Eddie Campbell: become so intolerably arrogant that I’m either murdered by a close friend, or driven to suicide by my own alienating narcissism.

WWHI I got a menial job: a reenactment of the last 15 minutes of Taxi Driver, complete with me fashioning a Mohawk and army jacket.

WWHI I went to art school and went on to become a successful conceptual artist: make a few million and might get to sleep with a few sexually liberated women before realising all the sexual experimentation in the world can’t melt the ice that entraps my heart in its greedy clutches.

WWHI I became a drug addict: given my luck, I’d OD on the Friday night of my first weekend binge.

--

--