Breathe and Relax

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2017
Image by John Bauer.

Setting up a routine is really great way to improve personal productivity.

It sets acceptable standards for your own accountability and helps to add structure. For freelancers, and the self-employed routine, and order can prevent one from wasting too much time and getting bogged down with deadlines.

This also leads to a large amount of control over the things in your life.

Deciding to check, email twice a day controls who gets to contact you and at what part of the day. It gives you the opportunity to prioritize your needs based on what you want to do, and not have to worry about little things throughout the day.

But what happens when you lack control?

Finding yourself in situations out of your control can feel overwhelming. You may find yourself thinking and overthinking ways of solving or even preventing it from happening it in the first place. When this happens, the key is to know when to stop thinking and find ways to be productive.

Yesterday, I had a perfectly planned out day, which was interrupted when I lost my wallet within a period of 5 minutes.

I was confused, upset and distraught and spent hours contemplating what could have happened. These thoughts and feelings temporarily stopped me from focusing on the things that I could do and how lucky I was that I didn’t have anything too important or irreplaceable in my wallet.

Once I accepted that there was only so much I could do about my lost wallet, I was able to turn the rest of my day around and get some much needed work done, including writing out this piece.

So, when things seem out of your control, remember to breath and try to relax

Written by Bashir of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

If you enjoy our content, please think about supporting us on Patreon as well!

“You can’t tell anyone, okay?” ← Previous — Next → Because It’s There

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.