Let Me Get Home

Comatose Podcast
2 min readMay 22, 2017
Growth” by Charles Salutan on Flickr.

You’d be hard-pressed to find a creative who doesn’t have a familiarity with the mantra:

“Sometimes you just have to do things for the love of it.”

Not being able to depend on your friends and family to support your art (nor understand it) from the get-go is part of the territory.

It can feel as if you’re out there all alone at times, but that’s part of the journey. As cliché as it sounds, I reckon that’s the part that builds integrity and humility.

I’ve recently embarked on releasing a new musical project and I am gaining support slowly but surely. I’m able to actively see and appreciate each and every person who has shown me love on this project even though I’m still in the beginning stages.

Do I hope to be able to reach more people with my art?

Absolutely.

However, I want to be able to enjoy this part of growing while simultaneously hoping my growth doesn’t take too long.

Written by Nayokenza Robyn Oliver of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

If you enjoy our content, please think about supporting us on Patreon as well!

Losing Both My Mind and Data ← Previous — Next → “You can’t tell anyone, okay?”

--

--

Comatose Podcast

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.