Baby on Board: 6 Tips for Traveling on Public Transit with your Child

Commuter Kate
4 min readFeb 20, 2018

--

While pregnant and living without a car in the stunning city of San Francisco, I expected I would need a car once my little munchkin was born. Traveling to pediatrician appointments across town on transit with a stroller seemed like it would be cumbersome compared with having my own car. To my surprise, I found just the opposite.

After my baby was born I rented a car multiple times to get to those doctor appointments, Ikea and the supermarket. I found that lifting the car seat in and out of the car was tough on my back and took up valuable time. The same when traveling in an Uber or Lyft. I also found it’s much harder to console a crying baby who’s in the backseat while you’re driving than if you’re sitting side-by-side on transit.

Getting out of the house itself is a struggle most days with a baby or young child, so here are some of the key survival techniques to get around on public transit I’ve learned during the 8 months I’ve been a mother:

  1. Choose the optimal travel time

As every parent knows, children can be unpredictable. One day they will love being on the bus, looking out of the window as the sights pass by or listening to the chugging of the train. Other days they may feel overwhelmed by all the new faces or new noises.

When possible, try to time your journey outside of peak hours and during your child’s nap time — the rocking motion of public transit can help put them to sleep. Otherwise, I suggest taking them out after they’ve woken up and are fed and refreshed so they are as comfortable and happy as possible.

Traveling on the Northern Line in London to Kings Cross, one of the accessible stations. Notice the Tube has specific stroller (or prams as we say in England) parking areas. And don’t be deceived, this was at the end of the line; the train was full minutes earlier.

2. Take some provisions

Depending on the age of your child, don’t forget snacks and toys. Anything that can either distract them or they can find comfort in is best!

3. Know your way around

Planning is key when traveling with a child. Find the best route using Moovit, and if your child is in a stroller, you can review accessible routes which directs users on step-free routes from street level to the train, avoiding lifting the heavy stroller up the escalator or flights of stairs.

Planning my journey on Moovit, baby in tow!

I found the elevator down to BART on Market Street in San Francisco, thanks to my Moovit app.

4. Interact with your child

Riding transit means you don’t need to worry about watching the road. Take this time to tickle your baby’s toes with a round of “this little piggy.” If your children are older, play a game. My colleague Steve used to enjoy “I spy with my little eye” with his pre-school children when they commuted together.

5. Be compact

When traveling on a bus, if your journey is short, it can be easier to travel with your baby in a carrier. You don’t have to worry about maneuvering your stroller in the tight gaps and your child will be close to you and feel more secure. If you do take your stroller, make sure not to take too many other bags to make it easier for yourself and your back.

Going through the larger barriers at BART with the stroller is easy, but if you travel on the bus, it can be easier to travel with a baby carrier.

6. Don’t panic

Finally, if your child is having a rough time and does start crying, just remember your stop will come soon enough. They can sense if you get nervous and will be even more fussy. In the end, it doesn’t matter if they cry and people seem bothered — you probably won’t see half the people again! Also, I’m always pleasantly surprised by how many people are happy to lend me a hand with my stroller and by making faces at my baby. So don’t be too shy to ask for help if you need it.

--

--

Commuter Kate

Transit Tipster & Comms Manager of Moovit, the world's number 1 transit app. Londoner living in SF. Mom of 1. Lover of transit, travel and food.