I’m 66 Years Old and Live in My Daughter’s Backyard

A Seattle family’s multi-generational compound is redefining retirement.

Country Living
5 min readNov 14, 2017

BY MARIA CARTER

When Meredith Stannard, 66, retired from her job earlier this year, her soon-to-be-former coworkers couldn’t wait to see the tiny house she and her partner Elyse Zandonella, 69, had decided to downsize into. “Everybody was curious,” she says. “I started doing these happy hours where I’d have one or two people over at a time. There’s a lot of buzz with people wondering if they could do this too.”

Last November, the couple moved from a 1,300-square-foot home in west Seattle to a 613-square-foot cottage in the backyard of a house owned by their daughter Drew, 33, and son-in-law Jacob, 37, in the city’s Ballard neighborhood. Their mini-house now stands where a dilapidated detached garage, formerly envisioned as a possible writing studio for Drew, once stood.

Matt Hagen

“When I told friends, their reaction was either, ‘That’s so wonderful, wish I could do that with my family,’ or ‘Oh my god, you’re crazy, I could never do that with my parents,’” says Drew. “You know whether or not it would work…

--

--

Country Living

Like our new page! http://ctrylv.co/NgnaFrS With a focus on decorating, gardening, and cooking, Country Living beats a path home to what really matters.