Wandering Veterans — Reunited

The Sauntering Veteran
15 min readNov 12, 2017

“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan Press On! Has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.”

Credit for this passage is often granted to former President Calvin Coolidge, around the year 1929. However, the origin of the motivational phrase is actually late 19th century New England. In 1881 Reverend Theodore Thornton Munger published “On the Threshold,” in which he described similar advice but instead used “purpose” in the place of “persistence.” In fact, the first chapter is entitled “Purpose.” Munger said, “A purpose is the eternal condition of success. Nothing will take its place…There is no road to success but through a clear strong purpose.”

The fact that purpose came before persistence should not come as a surprise. After all, a person can’t persevere to meet the goal of any purpose until it has first been properly defined.

Many people struggle to find purpose in their lives, and I was no different. Thankfully, I joined the United States Marine Corps three days after I graduated from high school and a purpose was issued to me. For the first six years of my adult life I didn’t need to worry about what my purpose was, I could focus all of my energy on accomplishing the goal that I was assigned.

--

--

The Sauntering Veteran

Adventuring through the challenges of life after war, and bleeding onto the page to show that perseverance is the path to a happy, healthy life.