What It Takes to Design Great Architectural Models

Craig Martin
2 min readSep 28, 2017

--

The given article talks about how architectural models were developed in the past and the present.

I am an architect by profession but right now I don’t design architectural models myself as I have employed a team for the same who will do this job for me. Last week I build a simple foam core model for one of my clients after several years and thankfully I completed the same without any hassles, which proved that still, I have the skills of the accomplished model builder.

Maybe this shows that I am dramatic, but building architectural models was more than a profession for me. It’s more a hobby than just a profession and I always took great pride in building architectural models. When I recall my architectural school days where everyone has their own strengths and weaknesses. Some were good at drawing whereas some could really render well. Even some were excellent in making buildings in the computer. Building real life models was something that I really enjoy.

In the previous times, architectural models were built with the help of 3D rendering, however, if you talk about the present times where there are number of tools that one could use to prepare architectural models.

Building great architectural models is a skill and a few people have this skill in them. You may know the reason why I am saying this. Building residential models or any other architectural design requires a lot of practice and patience. The idiom “Practice Makes a Man Perfect” applies to model making because to make a perfect architectural model you need a good amount of hard work. There would be chances that you may not get successful even after putting your hundred percent effort.

After designing so many architectural models what I have discovered is that model making requires three things:

  • Time
  • Patience
  • Concentration

Without these things, you can’t design a perfect architectural model. This was the case when 3D rendering was used to design architectural models. However, the introduction of 3D modeling eased the job of model making to a great extent. Nowadays most of the architects make use of 3D modeling to design architectural models.

Even the organization where I work also use 3D modeling to design models. The good thing about 3D modeling is that it is quite fast, which is quite helpful when you have lesser time to design an architectural model for some project. However, you can make good use of this technique only when you have the skills otherwise it is of no use to you.

The good thing about 3D modeling is that it gives you an exact picture of how your future home or office will look like.

--

--

Craig Martin
0 Followers

I am Craig Martin and I own Archetype 3D, a company that designs and develops 3D architectural models for homes, businesses and engineering projects.