a love prayer: testimony

@Crishuana_
3 min readSep 17, 2017

--

This post was orginally published on Crishuana.Com, Sep 1 2017, 19:45 EST.

A meditation on 1 Corinthians 13:

Father God in the beautiful heavens above,

I thank you for your mercy on my life that you would come to me at so young an age to do your work
I see that you have always been preparing me through the many opportunities and the many trials you have given me at such a young age
How could I have not seen your love in this world for all this time?
What a blessing Lord that you have opened my eyes
Thank you Jesus
Thank you.
I was blind but now I see
Love is so painful sometimes when you see how wide it can be
And when you see how much hurt it brings when it is missing

So often I tried to create love when i did not know what it was
I had not seen it since my mother died so many years ago
When she left, all the people around me turned hard
They looked at me and saw the things they did not forgive themselves for
I felt guilty for them
And I kept that guilt in my heart

But, it was your love that told me it was time to heal
You waited until I was ready to build a family
Then you showed me the pain I had that I needed to heal before I could have one of my own
Throughout you loved me
Unconditionally.

I never knew what love was until you loved me, Jesus
Thank you is such a small word
Now I understand why we follow you

You want what is best for us so you teach us how to live
You love us even when we make mistakes and must face the consequences of it
You give us strength to overcome such that we may see the wisdom you are giving us for your purpose
You prepare us for the tribulations that are inevitable for you have a path for each of us–
Each of us that choose to believe it

What a small price to pay for the blessing to walk with you
The ultimate blessing
I have known of god, but
Now I see that you are God
Because God is love
You do not require us to do anything or be anybody
You already love us for ourselves
What a peace
Indescribable to those who have never felt it

I pray that as many souls as you choose
will have the opportunity to have your blessing
May you give me the words to share your good news to all

Thank you for loving me
unconditionally.

Amen.

Be more full of love here with Baba Ram Dass’ lecture “Path of the Heart” (Rhinebeck, NY — July 1992). Blessings to you on your journey.

May you be full of love always in all ways,
-S.

--

--

@Crishuana_

Intersecting belief + technology + libraries #blackprophetiktradition ✌🏾 // formerly @dartmouth + @nowatnpl :: currently @newcollegeoffl