From 8.5% on Dec 1, 2015 to 5.3% today

1yr of Looping (OpenAPS/Loop) & hbA1C

Jim is CrushingT1D
2 min readJan 26, 2017

--

One year ago today I got my Medtronic 722 pump & Dexcom G5 talking via Carelink stick plugged into a Raspberry Pi (small Linux computer). I then flipped on software that Ben West created to communicate with said devices, then connected up oref0 that Scott Leibrand built to make automated changes to my insulin delivery using what is known as OpenAPS.

Over the next few months I ditched the Pi and Carelink for smaller and more nerdy versions of the hardware. On April 30, 2016 I switched to a nifty setup using a tiny piece of hardware created by Pete Schwamb and became the second user (behind Nate) on an iPhone based closed loop automated pancreas system called Loop created by loudnate.

These two open-source solutions have made a massive difference in my life as a Type 1 Diabetic. The last time I had BG this in control I was 10 years old, just before my pancreas decided to give up on me. My most recent A1C was 5.3, the best I have ever had and is considered “non-Diabetic” on many charts. So happy and proud of the OpenAPS and LoopKit communities!

I am also so glad I did not keep waiting around for the broken promises of a commercial system that still has not arrived. I made a video about that awhile back.

If you or anyone you know is a Type 1 Diabetic and interested in learning more…

https://github.com/LoopKit/Loop
https://openaps.readthedocs.io/en/latest/index.html

You can also see my live blood sugars and Loop in action at http://live.crushingt1d.com

--

--

Jim is CrushingT1D

Long time Type 1 Diabetic (T1D). Technology + Motivation = Crush Diabetes with the help of #Loop