The Muppets (2011)

Cruz Lopez
1 min readMay 2, 2022

--

I love the Muppets. My all-time favorite song is Rainbow Connection. I’ve seen almost everything the Jim Henson Company has been involved with. The Muppets’ films have a great track record, and The Muppets (2011) is no exception. Although I will say, being a fan of the Muppets it’s harder for me to watch this film through a critical lens.

From start to finish, the Muppets (2011) was delightful. I think the framing of “getting the band back together” was perfect for this film. All of the cameos were especially fun, my favorite being Jack Black’s.

My least favorite character is the new moppet, Walter. He lacks that Jim Henson magic in my opinion. I understand that he is thematically necessary for the movie, but his inclusion felt navel gazey. I never dreamed of hanging out with the Muppets, I just enjoy watching their adventures. Maybe that’s why Walter didn’t work for me.

I also want to applaud the film for its humor. It feels like the modern film industry leans too heavily on Joss Whedon-esque humor, but the Muppets (2011) is a different brand of humor. I would compare it favorably to 30 Rock.

The Muppets (2011) could have been a soulless cash grab. Instead, a lot of care and reverence went into the making of this film, making it a fine addition to the Muppets film pantheon.

--

--

Cruz Lopez

Cruz Lopez is an aspiring writer/director and a senior at Texas State University in San Marcos. His ultimate goal is to build a worker owned film industry.