Self-Publishing My First Book

Luis Buenaventura {bloomX}
1 min readJan 24, 2017

--

Last December, I sat down and started compiling material for a book that I had always wanted to write. The goal was to collect all the learnings that I’d accumulated over the past three years working in the Bitcoin industry, and to tell the stories of the young startups that had been pioneering the Bitcoin remittance space.

It was originally going to be four chapters long, but it was more like eleven by the time I was done. The book describes the mechanics of Bitcoin remittance businesses, details the various challenges in dealing with regulatory regimes, suggests strategies for avoiding volatility, and includes several chapters about remittance startups like BitPesa, Payphil, Bitspark, Abra, and OkLink.

The project gave me a chance to dust off some old DTP know-how that I hadn’t needed in over a decade. Adobe InDesign continues to be a real beast of an app.

Sample pages from “Reinventing Remittances with Bitcoin”

I’m pretty proud of how it turned out. It’s called Reinventing Remittances with Bitcoin, and you can download it for free here.

--

--

Luis Buenaventura {bloomX}

On startups, technology, and the coming financial revolution. For more about the author, visit http://cryptonight.org