IDOLChain - OOAK Crypto Art Dolls: An Introduction

IDOLChain
4 min readAug 25, 2019

IDOLChain is a collection of non-fungible token based-artwork focused on personifications of cryptocurrencies and related technologies. Because of the accessible nature of the Ethereum network, all IDOLs will make their debut there.

As part of a long term goal, if that IDOL’s blockchain has NFT capabilities, a version of them “at home” will be found there, too.

Most of the tokens are designed with a mix of cyberpunk(and cypherpunk), moe anthropomorphism, and pinup aesthetics. Still, the designs and personality traits both aim to reflect a strong character that illustrates what they represent.

Using a cryptocurrency as an example, IDOLs usually come with two sides (like a coin). One side highlights the benefits and features of their coin, and the other doesn’t shy away about the fears and notoriety that they have gained over time. That’s a line that can and does often blur.

Concept & Motivation

IDOLChain was inspired by one-of-a-kind art dolls and higher-end ball-jointed dolls. I’ve always enjoyed designing characters and admired the amount of love and lush detail that goes into a lot of these particular dolls.

For a very long time, I have always wanted to make and design these kinds of collectibles. However, working as a contractor who moved from gig to gig, I’d never really had a static space to set up a spot to work on them like I’d wanted to. Everything from collecting materials to sanding down the dolls can be a messy but rewarding process.

When I learned about non-fungible tokens a couple of years ago, that gave me an idea to try designing virtual collectibles instead. I was already familiar with the concept of viewing digital assets as something with real-world value (adoptables and MMO items in particular) but always felt, inexplicably, that the angle I should be approaching hadn’t even been conceived yet.

I started working on my designs off and on around early 2018 and hashing out a simple, but hopefully rewarding and entertaining concept.

When I was ready to begin rendering the final version of the first IDOL, I chose to use a bold vector style because I think the medium lends itself well to a futuristic and artificial look. I didn’t want the characters and their settings to feel too organic. I wanted them to look clean and easy-to-read, but also to look very bright, lush, and be something that would also look good in a token wallet. I wanted to reflect a lot of the aesthetics I’d come across when studying about crypto technology.

Benefits & The Future

IDOLChain is, first and foremost, an art project. That doesn’t mean gamification is off the table. The eventual plan is to give the owners much more than just a high-resolution version of the artwork.

Those who decide to become a Knight for an IDOL should consider it as a key towards future works. An example can include, but isn’t limited to, first access with collaborative projects and spin-offs.

Offering Bounties and Rewarding the Collector

Using a referral link provided by OpenSea, those who pair an IDOL with their future Knight (the buyer) will be rewarded with a bounty. I call them ‘Recruiters.’ When an IDOL is up for sale, a referral link will be provided for the Recruiters to use.

For the Knights, or the collector, their rewards will be based upon factors such as how many IDOLs they’ve owned and how many of which version that they have at a certain date.

Requests & Collaborations With Developers

There’s no stopping anyone from asking for a particular IDOL to be created. That IDOL will be available for sale on completion just like the rest. Owners of projects who would love to see or commission an IDOL based on their work can reach out to me as well.

Moving Forward

As of this writing, the first auctions are set to launch on August 28th, 2019 (8/28). Interested parties can follow me on Twitter, or join me on Telegram.

--

--

IDOLChain

Crypto-Based Art Project account. Follow along to see your favorite coins personified in one-of-a-kind ERC721 tokens.