On Being a Pro Cyclist — San Dimas Stage Race and Gent-Wevelgem

Cylance Pro Cycling
3 min readApr 7, 2017

--

Welcome to the third edition of our year long photo reflection blog from the Cylance Pro Cycling team. This time around we hear from riders after the UCI Women’s WorldTour Race, Gent-Wevelgem, and the USA American Racing Calendar event, San Dimas Stage Race.

The “Sprinter’s Classic,” Gent-Wevelgem usually comes down to a bunch sprint with some of the world’s fastest riders. Teamwork is key to ensure a good result in the final sprint, though that’s not until after the peloton is slowly whittled down by two ascents of the Kemmelberg; wind and rain are also frequent visitors, ensuring the final sprint is between about 30 riders.

Meanwhile, across the Atlantic, the men’s team finished their residency in California with the Southern California classic, San Dimas Stage Race. Things get underway with a short but difficult ascent up Glendora Mountain Road; this is where the general classification battle gets established.

Both squads won’t see much rest on the horizon with the monumental European Classic Ronde van Vlaanderen coming up soon after for the women and the first test of the UCI Americas Tour calendar, the Joe Martin Stage Race, for the men. More on these in the next edition.

“On Being a Pro Cyclist” is series where we ask our Cylance Pro Cycling athletes to tell us more about specific moments throughout the season. We hope you enjoy the inside perspective of some of the world’s most inspirational athletes.

Photo: Dan Munson

One minute before the start, I had forty different thoughts racing through my head. One minute into the effort- I had one. Go fast.

-Kyle Murphy (USA)

Photo: VeloFocus

In this photo, in the group remain I and Sheyla.

I felt responsible for her, I knew I had to give my all and not give up because she and team count on me and my work for my leader- Sheyla :)

-Malgorzata Jasinska (POL)

Photo: Dan Munson

In this moment I’m just thinking to get the gap as close as possible. I’m being selfless in pursuit of glory for the team. My face and body language is calm but I’m suffering. I helped bring the break back and sold out for my guys the same way they sell out for me.

-Justin Williams

Photo: Dan Munson

It’s rare that I’m in position to test myself in a flat bunch sprint. So when I was, I felt a lot of anticipation and excitement as I waited for someone to open up the sprint. And then a mixture of astonishment and pure joy when I crossed the line first.

-Krista Doebel-Hickok

--

--

Cylance Pro Cycling

UCI Women's World Tour Team & UCI Continental Men's Team #bringthegreen