Frank Ocean’s Past Life as a Songwriter

DJBooth
5 min readApr 29, 2019
Art By: Kendra de Vries-Thomas

In mid-April, GAYLETTER published a rare interview with Frank Ocean, in which the typically media-shy artist opened up about his history working as a songwriter for hire. In response to a question about the takeaways he’d glean from this experience, Frank recounted a story about how he’d learned “to be quicker in the studio,” as a result of a “lifesav[ing]” invitation he’d received to work for free out of a professional studio:

“So I’m in there writing, and I’m stuck on half a verse. I can’t finish this verse. I’m like, I don’t know, I can’t put it together. [The person who extended the invitation initially] walks in and says, ‘How many songs you got?’ I’m like, ‘I got half a verse.’ And he looks at me and says, ‘You can’t come in here and write half a verse.’ So I play him half the verse and he’s like, ‘Well, that’s good, so you can stay.’ So I stayed, but I started trying to really figure out how to write songs. Eventually, after a couple years of doing that, I could write at least a couple songs in a four-hour block. It was just from learning, from writing dozens and dozens of demos.” Frank Ocean

Given how notoriously selective he is with his output, it’s fascinating to think about Ocean cranking out songs like a shift worker on an assembly line.

--

--