Top 5 Watercolor Paint Brands You Should Be Using

Ficktaholic
4 min readMay 28, 2018

Can we all agree there’s something about watercolor paint- it’s an ethereal quality that captures the viewer instantly. Because watercolors are translucent (they allow light to pass through them,) there’s a sense of wonder for the viewer, and even for me as an artist when I work with them. Watercolors are also transformative, meaning they transform As they dry. Sometimes, low quality watercolors can stifle this effect, so I’ll be talking about my top 5 watercolor brands that will make your paintings create that sense of awe and impact in your paintings

Daniel Smith Watercolors in Serpentine and Moonglow

  • Daniel Smith Watercolors — I’m starting with my favorite because I’m wait like that but these little tubes of magic are unlike anything else- some of them include actual semi-precious gemstones such as amethyst. They come in 5ml and 15ml tubes. There are also 2 starter sets if you’d like to try them before making the big investment. These have taken over my palette almost exclusively. They’ve got your standard colors but their unique colors such as moonglow and lunar blue are pure magic. If you only get two colors get those- and maybe Serpntine. I hate out of the tube…

--

--

Ficktaholic

I'm a blogger, content creator and artist from NY. Follow me on Twitter @ficktaholic or visit my News Site at www.ficktaholic.com